Texas Vehicle Registration

CALL US NOW (Mon-Fri, 8am – 5pm PST) Call Us for a Free Quote of your Texas Auto Insurancefor a FREE QUOTE or fill out this form:

Texas Vehicle Registration Process

Texas laws require the residents who own a vehicle to renew their vehicle registration annually. It can be done through mail or in person. Residents of some counties can do online registration as well. Whether you get a vehicle registered through mail or in person, you will have to show proof of current Texas auto insurance, with at least the minimum liability requirements.

Full-time students and active military members need to get their vehicles registered in Texas, even when they are living out of the state.

The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) issues registration renewal notices to the registered vehicle owners. For registration through mail, you have to send a renewal notice, proof of current auto liability insurance and a registration fee along with the mail-in fee.

When doing it in person, you need to submit the required documents along with the registration fee in the county tax office. New residents and the people whose registration has expired can only register in person.

In case you haven’t received the renewal notice, you can renew your registration using your vehicle license plate number, your vehicle identification number or your registration receipt from the previous year.

Out of State Texas Vehicle Registration

If you are a Texan currently living out of state, you need to register your vehicle in the state where you currently reside, unless you are a full-time student or active military member. In that case, your Texas vehicle registration will be done in the county tax office where you last lived.

If you have changed your address within Texas, you are required to update the tax office about the changes. It can be done by mailing a complete change of address form or in person at county tax office.

Vehicle Registration Notice on Sold Cars

If you have received a vehicle registration renewal notice after you have sold your car, it is because the record with the authority showed you as the owner. In such case, you need to file a vehicle transfer notification. You are required to file the transfer notice within 30 days of selling or trading your vehicle to get absolved of any responsibility for that vehicle. Note that filing the transfer notification does not transfer vehicle ownership. It simply removes your liability for the actions of the new owner.

Driving With an Expired Texas Vehicle Registration

Texas law permits your vehicle to be operated up to five working days after the registration expires without penalty. After the five day duration, you can receive a ticket of up to $200 for an expired registration.

The law disallows pocket bikes or toy motorbikes to be driven on roads, as most of these vehicles do not pass a state safety inspection. For any motorized vehicle to be titled, a secure Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin issued by a manufacturer registered with NHTSA is required. Mopeds that are on the approved list of mopeds maintained by The Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS) can be registered.

All-terrain vehicles, equipped with a bench seat and not designed by the manufacturer for farm or lawn use, are required to be titled, but not registered. Off-highway motorcycles are also required to be titled, but not registered.

Boats are also required to be titled and registered, albeit the registration is with the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department. The registration fee of the craft depends on the size, purpose and other variables of the car.

Texas Car Insurance – Cheap Quotes

When registering a car in Texas, you must have proof of at least the minimum Texas auto insurance requirements. Getting a car insurance quote in Texas used to be a cumbersome process, calling your local auto insurance agent or calling one of the better known national auto insurance agencies.

Today, with the World Wide Web, Texas residents’ benefit from auto insurance quote comparison services, like the one provided here.

To get the cheapest auto insurance quotes in Texas, simply start by inputting your zip code into the banner at the top of this page. You’ll begin a process that takes on average about 3 minutes. You will be able to compare the cheapest Texas car insurance quotes – designed specifically for you – from the top auto insurance providers in Texas. Many – if not all of the providers – are well known, nationally recognized companies. You’ll see auto insurance providers like Geico, All-State, AAA and many more recognized names in the auto insurance industry.

With everyone in hurry to get things done, it is no longer necessary to call your local car insurance agent, or even a nationally recognized auto insurance provider. Now, in just a few minutes online from the comfort of your home, you can get cheap car insurance quotes from all of the same auto insurance companies without the hassle.

The cost saving and earnings of shopping for cheap car insurance online are tremendous. If it takes about 10 minutes to save up to $500 a year on car insurance, let’s do the math and see what that works out to be in earnings per hour. Sixty minutes divided by ten minutes, times $500 = $3000 an hour, all for saving money on car insurance. That’s quite the hourly pay! You could multiple that out times the next 5-10 years and the amount gets even more astounding. Perhaps this is how the rich get richer!

So when renewing or registering your vehicle in Texas for the first or tenth time, consider finding the cheapest Texas car insurance first, and then begin the vehicle registration renewal process in Texas.

CALL US NOW (Mon-Fri, 8am – 5pm PST) Call Us for a Free Quote of your Texas Auto Insurancefor a FREE QUOTE or fill out this form:

Call Us Now